Home » Uncategorized » Getting to know Rachel Minske, 2013 Devroy Fellow

Getting to know Rachel Minske, 2013 Devroy Fellow

2013 Devroy Fellow
Junior Rachel Minske

We learned the inside scoop on what’s going on in the 2013 Devroy Fellow’s life. The prestigious award is given in honor of journalist Ann Devroy and includes perks any journalism student would love. Here’s what she had to say:

Question: Congrats on winning the Devroy fellowship! What was your initial reaction?

Answer: Complete shock and downright happiness. I remember thinking, “shut up!”

When did you decide journalism was for you? Was there a specific moment it clicked?

I’ve always found the news to be fascinating, fast-paced and exciting. There was never an ‘a-ha!’ moment—I just always knew that this was what I was going to do. I can’t imagine myself doing anything else.

Do you see Ann Devroy as a leader in the journalism realm? How has she inspired you?

Ann Devroy was very much a leader in the industry. I’m inspired by her fierce reporting, standard of excellence and her devotion to family and friends.

All right, we have to ask. How do you cure writer’s block?

Haha! Who has time for writer’s block when you’re constantly on deadline?!

Your resume is completely full. And you’re only a junior. Where does this motivation come from?

I was taught from a young age that if you work hard, anything is possible. That is so incredibly true. I’ve decided to create my own destiny and I understand that the only person responsible for my happiness and my success is me.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?

Spending time outdoors. I love hiking and backpacking. I’ve recently become a certified scuba diver, which is terrifying and thrilling at the same time.

What’s up next, Miss Rachel? Tell us your summer plans!

In a couple weeks, I’ll be traveling to Moldova with Jan Larson [CJ faculty member] and a few other journalism and organizational communication representatives. I’ll be teaching journalism to middle school and high school students! I’ll also have time to do some reporting on the on-going conflict between the Moldovan government and the free press. When I return to the Midwest, you can find me on the golf course.

More information on the Ann Devroy Forum.

Leave a Reply

