Home » Uncategorized » Springing into a new semester in the CJ department

Springing into a new semester in the CJ department

Welcome back to campus students and staff for what is sure to be another exciting semester ahead of us. As you all transition into new classes and new obligations, I will be getting used to my new position, managing the blog and the Facebook page for the communication and journalism department.

With all that goes on during a semester in the CJ department I couldn’t be more excited to share the happenings with everyone. Followers whether you be students, professors or alumni you should all feel free to contact me throughout the semester with comments or ideas for future posts!

Trent Tetzlaff, senior journalism student, visits Mt. Simon, one of his favorite spots in Eau Claire. Tetzlaff will be running the blog and Facebook page for the Communication and Journalism Department this semester.

Trent Tetzlaff, senior journalism student, visits Mt. Simon, one of his favorite spots in Eau Claire. Tetzlaff will be running the blog and Facebook page for the Communication and Journalism Department this semester.

My name is Trent Tetzlaff; I am senior journalism major in my final semester as a Blugold. Although I came to campus my freshman year decided on my major, my interests and ideas of what I can do with it have changed year to year.

As a kid growing up a die-hard sports fan in the heart of Packer country, right after my years of athletics came to a close in high school, I set my eyes on becoming a sports reporter.

After four semesters in various positions with The Spectator, and nearly a year and a half working part-time in sports with the Leader-Telegram, I quickly learned a variety of skills I never could have imagined.

My work with the Leader-Telegram allowed me to not only work in the office taking box scores from prep sporting events, but it allowed me the opportunity to go out into the field and cover a variety of events. From Eau Claire Express games to the annual Buckshot Run held at Carson Park, all of these opportunities gave me an interesting new opportunity to gain interview and writing skills I didn’t have.

This semester will mark my fifth and final semester with the Spectator. In the past few years I have held staff writer, copy editor and sports editor positions and can credit a large portion of my journalism knowledge to the publication. The paper opened so many doors for me, and also gave me confidence in myself when it came to reporting early on.

In my work with the blog this semester I will be bringing you stories involving current and former students and faculty. My goal is to keep everyone in the know when it comes to that department this semester, and I will do my best work to offer that!

Leave a Reply

